spoiler free, tbr thursday

December TBR 2019

tbr Thursday

It only occurred to me this morning as I write this that I haven’t actually decided on a TBR for this month. I’ve just kind of been picking each book as I finish the one before. Looking at last months TBR I got through about half it but read two other books that weren’t on the list at all so I think four was an accurate estimate for a quiet reading month. I’m going to try and stick with four again this month as obviously it’s Christmas but I have a few things going on this month (mostly Dungeons and Dragons related, I’m not gonna lie) that will mean I might not be able to read as much as I would like (always the case tbh). I’m just going to wing this TBR so let’s see…

Starsight by Brendon Sanderson
I adored Skyward last year and its sequel has been one of my long-awaited releases for the end of this year. This will quite likely be my next read and I’m so grateful to have received a gifted copy from Gollancz on its release. I’m so very ready to follow Spensa and M-bot (not forgetting doomslug) into the stars!

The Guinevere Deception by Kiersten White
I had been hearing about this for a while, I own Slayer by the same author which my husband immensely enjoyed reading but I haven’t got around to yet and as someone who loves Arthurian lore I was tempted more and more every time I heard something about this new release. It was when author Kiersten posted “SO MUCH LONGING IT COULD BE A CW SHOW MAIN COUPLE BROKEN UP AT THE END OF SEASON ONE” on Twitter that I immediately brought it. I love me some longing and angst and this description just gave me Kara and Mon-El from Supergirl vibes after stuff goes down there and I need more of that drug and I’m hoping The Guinevere Deception will deliver.

The God Game by Danny Tobey
I am SO hyped for this January release! I was lucky enough to have been picked to receive one of the few ARC copies of this from Gollancz. We have a virtual world ran by underground hackers, an omnipotent A.I that refers to itself as GOD and starts demanding its users complete more and more worrying and cruel missions with threats against them if they do not complete them. This book sounds so very up my street and with CTRL+S still very fresh in my mind I’m excited to get around to this book.

Somebody Give This Heart A Pen by Sophia Thakur
The Goodreads synopsis describes this much better than I ever could:
“From acclaimed performance poet, Sophia Thakur comes a powerful new collection of poems exploring issues of identity, difference, perseverance, relationships, fear, loss and joy. The collection is arranged as life is: from youth to school, to home life, falling in love and falling straight back out again. The poems draw on the author’s experience as a young mixed-race young woman trying to make sense of a lonely and complicated world. With a strong narrative voice and emotional empathy, this is poetry that will resonate with all young people, whatever their background, and whatever their dreams.”
I haven’t read a lot of poetry recently and it’s just something I tend to dip my toe into now and again but something about this book just called to me and I’m looking forward to reading this one too!

The Sky Weaver by Kristen Ciccarelli
I really loved The Last Namsara, which I finally got around to reading last year just before the release of The Caged Queen. I enjoyed both of them but The Last Namsara especially. I’m really looking forward to this third book in the Iskari series! I only have my kindle version of this at the moment which I preordered but I will probably need to get my hands on a physical copy to match my others asap.

I think five books is probably ambitious enough for me this month! Especially as Starsight is quite a big chunky book. Have you read any of the books on my TBR? What are you hoping to read this month? Do we have any the same?

spoiler free, WWW Wednesday

WWW Wednesday 20th November 2019

www wednesday

Considering I’m still on target with NaNoWriMo I’m quite pleased I’ve actually managed to get a fair bit of reading in this past fortnight! It’s certainly been helped that I’ve been reading some brilliant books I’m sure!

If you want to join in with WWW don’t forget to send over a big thank you to Sam at Taking on a World of Words for keeping WWW alive and kicking.

What are you currently reading?
What did you recently finish reading?
What do you think you’ll read next?

What are you currently reading?

My copy of Queen of Nothing by Holly Black arrived a few days early but I’m proud to say I managed to finish the book I have been currently reading at the time and managed to wait until my friend got their copy so we can buddy read before starting it but I’m reading it now and OMG. I didn’t realise how much I missed this series of books! I somehow forgot just how much I adore Jude and realised that she may actually be one of my all-time favourite characters. I also forgot just how much I loved the court intrigues and the push for power etc as well as the (I’m well aware) messed up relationship between Jude and Cardan. This whole book (so far) has felt like returning home and reading something written just for me.

What did you recently finish reading?

I recently finished CTRL – S by Andy Briggs and although I wasn’t sure what to expect and didn’t think it had the greatest start for me personally I found it wholly addictive and picked it up to read every moment I could (review coming very soon). The day I finished CTRL – S my Kickstarter copy of NPC Tea: Issue Seven by Sarah Milman came in and I feverishly devoured that in one sitting, it went so fast! Too fast! So much was explained and so much happened and I was distraught when I read the end and realised the next issue would be the last! It was left on a massive cliffhanger and I fear the wait for the next issue in February might kill me, I’m hoping all the Star Wars goodness to come in the next couple of months will help keep me distracted.

What do you think you’ll read next?

My first instinct was to say Star Wars: Resistance Reborn by Rebecca Roanhorse and I do really want to read this next but I’ve got time as The Rise of Skywalker isn’t out until mid-December so I figured it would actually probably be best to read  The Sky Weaver by Kristen Ciccarelli first instead. I loved the first two Iskari books and I don’t want to risk ruining it while trying to read it while being full-on into my yearly Star Was hype fest/obsession.

I’m so blessed to have been able to read and get hold of SO many great books that are all coming out right now and I’m so excited to read them all! What are you excited to read right now? Are there any new releases you’re excited to get your hands on or already have?

 

 

spoiler free, tbr thursday

TBR Thursday – November 2019

tbr Thursday
Okay so it seems forever since Octobers TBR post for some reason although I did only get around to reading one of the books on that massive list I made, I was definitely far too ambitious and underestimated how busy a month it would be. As a result, this months TBR is much smaller, especially because on top of everything I’m also taking part in NaNoWriMo which is taking up almost all of my free time to be honest (I feel like I haven’t seen my FFXV boys in YEARS and none of my animal crossing villagers like me anymore). Still, these are the books I still hope to be able to read this month.

Chasing the Shadows by Maria V. Snyder
If you caught my WWW Wednesday post yesterday you’ll know that this is my current read. I’m lucky enough to have been granted an early e-book copy ready for the release which is fast approaching now! It’s been a great read so far and I’m finding it very hard to put it down, even more so than Navigating the Stars.

CTRL S by Andy Briggs
I believe I mentioned this in my last two WWW Wednesday posts but the book took a little longer to arrive than I thought it would BUT it’s here now and will definitely be my next read! CTRL S is apparently perfect for fans of Ready Player One and follows Theo Wilson as he searches the dark side on an online universe for his kidnapped mother in a world where people are harvested for their emotions.

The Sky Weaver by Kristen Cicarelli
A second sequel/companion story to The Last Namsara which I LOVED to pieces! I can’t wait for the next instalment and was so happy to find this on NetGalley by accident a little while ago! I of course also have my copy pre-ordered and have already received my beautiful pre-order goodies, these gorgeous art cards featuring characters from the books!

Dewdrop by Katie O’Neil
This is another early copy I received via Netgalley and is a children’s story about an Axolotl I can’t wait to read and hoping my little one will share with me!

I also have some comics and graphic novels I’m hoping to get around to reading too but we’ll see how things go although all bets are off if the newest copy of NPC Tea arrives because I am in DIRE NEED folks. Have a great weekend and I’ll hopefully see you back here Sunday if I don’t drown under my word count goal!