book reviews, Graphic Novels

Heartstopper Volume 2

Book Review

43307358._SY475_


Heartstopper Volume 2
 by Alice Oseman

Rating: XXXXX

Published July 11th by Hodder Children’s Books

“You like me?”
“Was that not obvious?”

“I’m an idiot”

Boy meets boy. Boys become friends. Boys fall in love. An LGBTQ+ graphic novel about life, love, and everything that happens in between: this is the second volume of HEARTSTOPPER, for fans of The Art of Being Normal, Holly Bourne and Love, Simon. 

Nick and Charlie are best friends. Nick knows Charlie’s gay, and Charlie is sure that Nick isn’t. But love works in surprising ways, and Nick is discovering all kinds of things about his friends, his family … and himself. 

Heartstopper is about friendship, loyalty and mental illness. It encompasses all the small stories of Nick and Charlie’s lives that together make up something larger, which speaks to all of us. 

This review is for volume two of Heartstopper. If you’re looking for Volume One you can check out my spoiler-free review for it right here if you would prefer.

I have been so SO excited to read volume two of Heartstopper and I was gutted that i had to wait an extra week and a half until after release to read it. I’ve tried to restrain myself from reading too far ahead on Tapas which is updated every week and is further ahead than the printed volumes, thankfully I managed fairly well just rereading the first one and other than the first few pages everything was fresh to me. The day it arrived I sat and read the whole beautiful thing in one sitting. If I hadn’t had my son to look after (and you know, parent) I would have probably sat on the floor in my kitchen where I’d opened it and read it there and then.

In volume two, Nick has some big issues to think about and although there are some heartbreaking little moments even the more conflict heavy parts still feel like soul food, the way Charlie and Nick interact is beautiful. There defintley feels more at stake here almost and although things obviously do happen (and in a way that feels quite close to home – some bullying trigger warning here) it never feels hopeless, Heartstopper, to me, always feels so gentle and full of hope.

The art continues to be simple yet emotive and I love the way the dialogue just flows so well and feels totally natural, we get more Nelly, some secret handholding scene that brought me to (happy) tears. If you enjoyed Heartstopper volume one then Volume two is a must and then we can desperately wait for volume three.

You can check out the webcomic here. Alice posts updates for free but I highly recommend supporting her via Patreon if able or Tapas if not, more information is available on her Tumblr page. Also, just a note that if you haven’t read Solitare there are no spoilers in Heartstopper for it so not to worry there.